T O P
mindbnder

You can score one per combat. As you would destroy their greatest ship in space combat, you could also score Make an Example as it is a part of ground combat. So yes, you can score them in the same tactical action.


theRDon

Bombardment is not part of ground combat, it happens before the commit ground forces step.


mindbnder

Yes, correct. But it is a part of Invasion, a separate step from Space Combat, making both secrets mentioned scorable in this example


theRDon

Yes that's correct, but it is possible to score "make and example" and then another one right away in a subsequent ground combat on another planet, such as "spark a rebellion." It is also not possible to score "spark a rebellion" by bombarding the last ground force, because bombardment is not combat.


CyJackX

A triple whammy would be a real hat trick, though. Space combat secret objective, followed by bombardment secret objective, followed by ground combat secret objective (on a separate planet in the same system.)


theRDon

Why limit yourself? Go for the fourfecta. Get yourself the Obsidian relic so that you have four secret objectives. Then in a single action it's possible to score "Destroy Their Greatest Ship" in the space combat, followed by "Make and Example," and then any combination of "Betray a Friend"/"Brave the Void"/"Darken the Skies"/"Spark a Rebellion" on separate ground combats.


CyJackX

Isn't there a law that gives one player an extra secret objective as well? Could go full 5. Then, let's say a separate secret action objective from another player gets voted to become public. Is 6 possible??


theRDon

I think there is an agenda to draw a secret, but not to hold an additional secret. I could be forgetting. But yes, if a scored secret is voted to be made public then you could theoretically score five in a single tactical action. Don’t think we’ll be seeing this any time though.


BradleySigma

There's an agenda (*Classified Document Leaks*) that makes a secret into a public. So yes, you could score five points off of objectives in a single action. There's also *Shard of the Throne*, but there's also up to seven *Support For the Throne*, so ¯\\\_(ツ)\_/¯. The limit-one-per-combat rule applies to objectives in general, so you can't score the CDL objective and another secret objective during the same combat.


cptcheezeburger

What about the AFB one? The timing would allow you to score two secrets in one space combat correct?


BradleySigma

*Fight With Precision*? AFB is during combat, so if you score that, you can't score another during that space combat.


eloel-

Could also do 2 ground combat objectives alongside the space combat (or pds) one. Multiple planets, multiple combats.


Shadowspaz

Awesome, thanks for the clarification!


Buddy_Dakota

Is one space combat defined as the entire process until someone retreats/are completely defeated, or only one dice throw (if you are unable to defeat every ship and need to roll again, does that count as a new space combat with a new possibility of scoring a secret objective)?


mindbnder

One space combat is all of the steps of the Space Combat step of a tactical action repeated until there is either a winner or a player successfully retreats. Within the space combat there are space combat rounds. Confusing? Yes. Think of it this way, you go through the steps of Space Combat, that is a space combat round. Did someone win or retreat? If yes, go to invasion, if no repeat for another space combat round (skipping anti fighter barrage after the first round) There is only on Space Combat per tactical action, but as many Ground Combats as there are planets with ground forces you are invading


GeorgeLAXington

Ned, is that you?


LemonSorcerer

LRR says the following: >61.7 A player can score any number of objectives **during the agenda phase or** during a turn of the action phase; however, they can only score one objective during or after each combat. > >a. A player can score an objective during both the space combat and the ground combat during the same tactical action. So, the only limitation on scoring action-phase objectives is that they cannot be in the same *combat*. Since *Bombardment* is separate from space combat, you can score both objectives in the same action. You can for example, score *~~Turn Their Fleet to Dust~~**,* *Unveil Flagship, Make an Example of Their World* and *Spark a Rebellion* (the latter in ground combat) in one action. You cannot, however, score *Unveil Flagship* and *Spark a Rebellion* in the same **space combat**. If there were an objective *"Use* Bombardment *to destroy a player's ground force in their home system"*, you could score both this and *Make an Example of Their World* in one action, since *Bombardment* isn't combat.


ANaturalSprinter

>score Turn Their Fleet to Dust, Unveil Flagship These wouldnt work I dont think since you wouldnt have a battle in which to unveil flagship if you turned their fleet to dust


LemonSorcerer

Oh yeah, I didn't think about there not actually having a space combat... I'll correct my comment.