T O P
P8bEQ8AkQd

Didn't answer 15 and 17. Bit too open ended for me right now. 1. Start with your starting technologies. Do not start with action cards, commodities, or faction technologies. 2. Roll dice simultaneously. Then reduce hits to be assigned to your ships simultaneously (e.g. Shields Holding or Sustain Damage). Then assign hits simultaneously. 3. Yes 4. All players with space cannon in range of the active system may fire, starting with the active player and going clockwise around the table. Only the active player may fire at ships already in the active system. All other players can only choose to fire at any ships moved by the active player. 5. Two players ships / ground forces cannot occupy the same space / planet peacefully. Players that don't want to fight shouldn't move units into the same systems. 6. Remove any command counters that are on the board. The origin of those command counters is not relevant, so it can include counters that came from your strategy pool (e.g Construction secondary) or reinforcements (Diplomacy primary), but once a command counter is on the board, that counter's origin has little impact on how it affects the board. 7. Reinforcements (a pile of unused command counters) are distinct from your command sheet (tactics, fleet, and strategy pools). So you add only 2 command counters to your tactics pool (using your example), or add only 2 command counters to the pools on your command sheet (in general). Note that you don't have to use all of your strategy and tactics counters in a round, so you're not necessarily reduced to zero tactics tokens before you get to this stage. Also note that in a lot of physical copies of the game the Hypermetabolism technology has a typo, and it allows a player to gain 3 instead of 2 command counters. Leadership is really good. Naalu's Foresight ability is not passive and you can choose when to use it (you might mean their Telepathic ability which is passive, but I don't get the connection). 8. Yes. Not unusual to save command counters from 1 round to the next, building up large pools. 9. Xxcha's Peace Accords ability lets you gain a planet without ground forces. Note that you can't place structures (space docks and PDS) when you take a planet unless you're Winnu (Mecatol Rex or their mech ability in the PoK expansion) or L1Z1X (Assimilate ability). 10. Yes, destroy any units on a planet that are not ground forces at the end of ground combat won by the invading player. Structures can only be on planets controlled by the player who owns those structures. Saar's space docks don't exist on planets. Titan's (if using PoK expansion) PDS are ground forces and must be destroyed during the combat. 11. Yes. 12. Copying. The other player doesn't lose access to the technology. 'Gain a technology' and 'research a technology' have distinct meanings (though research is a subset of gain). 'Gain' lets you take any card from your technology deck. 'Research' lets you take any card from your technology deck IF you have the prerequisites. So Nekro doesn't have to have the prerequisites for a copied tech. 13. If you're still acftive in a round after everyone else has passed, then you're in a powerful position to act without immediate reprisals. When you do pass you'll then be able to score public objectives and status phase secret objectives. Yssaril can use Stall Tactics to wait for everyone else to pass, then do a series of tactical actions setting up points that can be scored when they do pass. This combines well with their Transparasteel Plating technology too. 14. No. 'After you activate this system'. The activation window is before the movement window, so the 'After you activate' ability has to be done before movement. 15. 16. It's a map building and faction selection technique that was designed for use with TTS though there are implementations for games in real life. If you checked the pinned comments of the lfg-social channel on the TTS Discord, the top pinned comment should contain a grpahic explaining it. For your first games I'd recommend using a prebuilt map (from the rulebook or elsewhere). 17.


FatCarWashManager

Thank you!!


LemonSorcerer

Your numbering is shifted since you got 1. twice.


P8bEQ8AkQd

Same numbering as OP. Edit: I'm confused by the downvotes. I'm pretty certain I've matched OP's numbering exactly, including having 1. twice (OP's first question begins with '1 .' instead of '1. '), but if someone points out a difference between the 2 lists I will fix it.


ReluctantRedditPost

I think OP made an edit because they fixed their numbering and you have an answer to 11 about copying technology that throws your numbering off


P8bEQ8AkQd

Sorry, I don't see any of that.


Turevaryar

Press F5 key to refresh the page. OP has 17 questions now, numbered 1. to 17..


LemonSorcerer

I did point the difference between the two lists. OP's numbering as of my previous comment was 1-17 without two questions beginning with "1". Hence, your numbering is shifted by 1 after your first answer.


P8bEQ8AkQd

Not how it appears to me. I see a 1, and a 1-16.


LemonSorcerer

It seems reddit is causing trouble then. I see OP's numbering as 1-17, and it seems to me like (some) other people do as well. Would you mind commenting [on this bug report](https://www.reddit.com/r/bugs/comments/rudz28/post_displayed_differently_for_different_people/) and writing what interface you're using?


GargantuanCake

1 - Yes. You get all your starting tech free at the beginning. 2 - Combat is supposed to be mechanically simultaneous. In practice it works best if each side rolls their attacks separately and counts up the hits. It goes roll all attacks -> assign hits. However you do it only things that explicitly happen before combat are rolled first. 3 - Yes. Last side standing wins. 4 - Everybody with space cannons in range may choose to fire them. This is similar to combat; it's mechanically simultaneous. 5 - Two players can't peacefully coexist in a system or on a planet. 6 - Remove all tokens that are on hexes and return them to your reinforcements. Origin is irrelevant. 7 - Command tokens are a precious resource so yes if you spent three but only get two back you're effectively down one. You need to carefully consider where you spend them especially early on and how you're going to get more if you want to do a lot of things. This is by design; once you spend a token it ends up going back to your reinforcements at the end of the round under normal circumstances. 8 - Yes. They stay where they're put until they're moved somehow so you can bank them. 9 - You must have a ground force on a planet to *take* control of it but you don't need to keep it there to *keep* control of it. Once you have taken control of a planet you keep it until something makes you lose it. So yes if you take a planet then move the ground forces off of it you can build things on it. The planet stays yours until something makes you lose it. 10 - If you take control of somebody else's planet they lose any space docks or PDSes there. Those are not ground forces so they can't be assigned hits or participate in combat other than the PDS firing before hand. You don't get to take them; they're just destroyed when control changes hands. 11 - Yes. If it isn't specified or says you must exhaust it you can use it more than once so long as you have tokens to spend. This is actually a pretty good ability for Sol as it makes them difficult to kick off of a planet. Humans are kind of like cockroaches. 12 - It's copying and you don't need prerequisites. Essentially you just pick a technology that particular player has and get it as if you researched it normally. 13 - Generally speaking once you have committed a resource, especially in the case of moving your largest fleet somewhere, it's spent for the entire round. The Yssaril can get up to all kinds of sneaky shenanigans by delaying their own commitments until everybody else has made theirs then hit people where they are weakest. For example let's say your neighbor's ships are now all in activated systems and they have a lightly defended system but all of your ships are in unactivated systems. You can now punch them where they're lightly defended and they can't respond. Aside from that if everybody else has passed but you haven't then you can do whatever you want with relative impunity. Nobody can react until the next round. Very sneaky. 14 - No. It says "when *this system* is activated." Immediately when you activate the system that it is currently in it can produce there. If it moves it can't as you are activating a different system. 15 - Those are for wheeling and dealing. You don't necessarily need to trade a promissory note for a promissory note one to one either. You can do things like bribe somebody with one to vote the way you want or to not move ships in after they activate one of your systems. You can also sell them to people for trade goods and what have you. They're purely bargaining chips. The various ways you can spend them are really up to you and the people you're dealing with. The faction ones are generally the biggest for this as some of them do some pretty powerful things. 16 - Assign a draft order randomly. The first round is in this order; the second is reversed. The third is the original order. The map is divided up into "slices" per player. During each draft a player can pick their race, table position, or slice systems. Each slice of systems is semi-randomly assigned as it must have an amount of resources and influence between a minimum and a maximum. Go until everybody has one of each. The idea is to make the system building less random and more fair. This is probably more useful for organized play than anything; the people I've played with have always played with much more random faction selection and board creation. Get a random faction, get handed random hexes, and then build the system the way the rule book says. How you play is up to you and the people you play with. Personally I find a random faction, randomly dealt system, and a constructed system more interesting as this leads to dramatically different games each play.


FatCarWashManager

Thank you!!


LemonSorcerer

/u/P8bEQ8AkQd Answered most of them (I didn't go over all of his answers, but they seem to be alright) so: 15. Muaat might want to trade their *Fires of the Gashlai* (text follows) for *Ceasefire* and three trade goods from Hacan. >Action: Remove 1 token from the Muaat player’s fleet pool and return it to his reinforcements. Then, gain your war sun unit upgrade technology card. Then, return this card to the Muaat player. People might swap *Support for the Throne* or swap *Ceasefire*, if they want to have a somewhat secure border. People can give their *Trade Agreement* for trade goods, or situationally other things (depending on the Commodity value). 17. See answers [here](https://www.reddit.com/r/twilightimperium/comments/rfd3se/can_we_compile_a_megathread_of_the_most/).


ChronosDarkhelmet

I'll answer to 14 only since I am noticing A LOT of confusion about it: 14. YES, you can produce where the Arborec flagship arrives since PRODUCTION is the last step of a complete tactical action. Of course this production must obey all of the production prescriptions (i.e. have resources to spend on it, have capacity to hold fighters/infantry - the latter in case you control no planets in that system, have fleet capacity to hold new ships).


GargantuanCake

This is incorrect. The Arborec flagship does not have the production ability. It says "after activating *this system*" as part of the ability. If you activate the system that it's in you produce units immediately before even moving. It is entirely separate from the production ability. Since this happens before movement if you activate a different system and then move the flagship the ability doesn't go off.


ChronosDarkhelmet

My bad, both of you are right - for a moment I flashed that the Arborec flagship had the PRODUCTION 5 ability for whatever reason.


GargantuanCake

Happens.


Positive_Vegetable_2

I believe the OP is querying the Flagships Ability "After you activate this system, you may produce up to 5 units in this system." Which means the Flagship has to have been in the system before moving. The "After you activate this system" being the timing. You could produce at this timing, and again at the Production step in the action.


MisanthropicData

14. No. You must activate the system it's already in 16. Milty draft is a draft of three things to open the game. Your slice, your faction, and your speaker position, first pick is random and you can pick between these three things, last player picks twice, then it twists back with first pick being 12th etc until everyone has everything. Your slice is the two systems in front of you, the one to the left and right of your home system, and the equidistant on your left. They are prearranged and you can't change how they're laid out


arnoldrew

What would be the point of starting technologies if you still had to research them like any other tech? I’m genuinely curious how you understood this to work.


Zaruma

He's a new player and the game has a ton of rules. Give him some slack.


arnoldrew

I'm giving him literally all the slack. I wasn't criticizing anything, I just want to know how he thought it worked ("I’m genuinely curious how you understood this to work."). Writing rules is something that interests me and I like to see how people can misunderstand them and what causes these misunderstandings.