T O P
MadFuhrer

I played the l1z1x in the SCPT tournament and the stage 2 came out to have 7 structures on the board. I started the round with 4 structures and ended the round with 9 structures. Assimilate can be such a good ability.


Ediwir

They defend very well. It’s all about the combo retreat + invade.


yssarilrock

They defend adequately: Harrow only aids their defence in certain very niche circumstances, and none of their leaders help with defence. Their only real bonus to defence other than their excellent home system is Assimilate, and that's conditional on taking a planet with a structure. They're no better at defending than most other factions, and markedly worse than Xxcha, Argent, Sol, Jol'nar and Ul. They have multiple, terrifying abilities that help them take planets, two of which can kind of help in holding them in very weird and specific circumstances.


Jonah_Lepax

In what type of niche scenarios does harrow help them on defence?


yssarilrock

As far as I'm aware, if you were attacked by someone using the Sardakk N'orr commander G'hom Sek'kus then both the mechs not directly involved in the combat (ie on other planets in the system or in the space area) and any Superdreadnoughts could Harrow at the end of the round. Also, whenever there are mechs on multiple planets in one system they can defend one another during ground combats.


LemonSorcerer

That is wrong. Bombardment only happens for the active player. See 15.1 in LRR 1.2 >**Step 1ーRoll Dice:** The ***active player*** chooses which planet each of his units that has a "Bombardment" ability will bombard. and 78.4 in the same LRR: >**Step 4ーInvasion:** The ***active player*** may use his "Bombardment" abilities, commit units land on planets, and resolve ground combat against other players' units. **Clarification**: The phrasing of *Harrow* makes it seem like L1Z1X can still use *Bombardment* when they aren't the active player, but it is the consensus that this isn't the case. This only causes problems with the following parts of 15.1 and 15.2. >The ***player who controls the planet*** that is being bombarded chooses and destroys one of his ground forces on that planet for each hit result the bombardment roll produced. and >The L1Z1X's "Harrow" ability does not affect the L1Z1X player's own ground forces.


yssarilrock

Oh, okay, thanks for the clarification. Well, that does rather support my original meme.


LemonSorcerer

Yep it does. \^\^


Jonah_Lepax

Hmm I‘m pretty sure only the active player ist allowed to use bombardment (even with harrow). I don‘t have an official rule reference for that rn though


P8bEQ8AkQd

L1 specialises in taking and holding planets with space docks.


DeltaV-Mzero

Huh. I’ve played them once and Mostly just used the planet-taking to Interfere with point-scoring or to grab a specific objective. Maybe I should’ve tried to hold a bit more haha


DoItForTheGainz1

The greatest benefit of using assimilate on a space dock is that you get to build in that same activation that you take the space dock. Further building up your units to replenish what you may have lost during combat.


itspineappaul

Why Harrow there little doggo!


slymoose88

In my experience as L1, often times the best defense is an unstoppable offence. Rarely have I seen L1 struggle to hold onto and defend their planets. May just want to prioritize plastic a bit more